37th MAJECA-JAMECA Joint Conference on 1 July 2019 at EQ Kuala Lumpur

The 37th Conference of the Malaysia-Japan Economic Association (MAJECA) and Japan-Malaysia Economic Association (JAMECA) was held on 1 July 2019 at EQ, Equatorial Plaza, Kuala Lumpur.

YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Prime Minister of Malaysia, graced this conference with a Keynote Address for the participants.  The theme of the conference focussed on“Expanding Trade & Investments between Malaysia and Japan in the Innovative Technologies Sectors”.   The Prime Minister also had a Q & A dialogue with delegates at the conference.

Since 1977, over four decades, MAJECA and its Japanese counterpart, Japan-Malaysia Economic Association (JAMECA), have played a dynamic role to help Malaysia achieve its economic industrialisation goals, as evident by more than 1,500 Japanese companies in many industrial sectors locating their businesses in Malaysia.   With the fast-changing business landscape, MAJECA takes cognizance that businesses need to adopt market-driven technological innovations to be able to compete effectively in the global marketplace.  

MAJECA is led by its President, Tan Sri Azman Hashim while JAMECA’s President is Mr Mikio Sasaki.

In his keynote speech at the 37th MAJECA-JAMECA Joint Conference, the Prime Minister presented the broad economic climate in Malaysia and the Government’s efforts to develop and restructure the industrial eco-system to meet the needs of the future with the adoption and application of digital and innovative technologies.  Prime Minister encouraged MAJECA-JAMECA to be instrumental to open new frontiers for investments and economic collaborations and partnership between our two countries.



  1. Report of the 37th  MAJECA-JAMECA Joint Conference on 1 July 2019 at EQ Kuala Lumpur

  2. Programme of the 37th MAJECA-JAMECA Joint Conference

  3. Newspaper Articles

Speeches and Presentations

  1. Ministry of International Trade & Industry Malaysia (MITI)
  2. SIRIM Berhad
  3. Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (FMM)
  4. Mitsubishi Electric Asia Pte. Ltd.
  5. KDDI Malaysia Sdn Bhd
  6. Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA)
  7. JACTIM / Marubeni Corporation, Kuala Lumpur Branch
  8. Invest Selangor Berhad
  9. NanoMalaysia Berhad
  10. Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC) Sdn Bhd
  11. The National ICT Association of Malaysia (PIKOM)
  12. Nippon Platform Co. Ltd.
  13. Hitachi Sunway Information Systems Sdn Bhd
  14. Summary Speech by Tan Sri Azman Hashim at Special Session with PM
  15. Keynote Address by YAB PM at the 37th MAJECA-JAMECA Joint Conference

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s